Clinton County Community Foundation Announces 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipient

Dec. 13, 2017 -- One Clinton County student has been named a recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Clinton County Community Foundation 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

Elizabeth Rhoda, daughter of Douglas and Regina Rhoda, will receive full tuition to an accredited public or private nonprofit Indiana university or college of her choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment.

Elizabeth, a Frankfort High School student, is a member of the National Honor Society and Student Council, and is vice president of the Class of 2018. She is a member of the varsity cross country team and plays the violin in the school orchestra. For four years, Elizabeth has served at the Community Center’s Thanksgiving dinner and has assisted in teaching library art classes.  Her volunteer work also includes the TPA Park clean-up through Learning to Lead and Amigo Hour, where Elizabeth assists Spanish-speaking residents with their English. She also volunteers at the Clinton County Humane Society. 

Elizabeth plans to attend Purdue University to study biomedical engineering.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state.

The selection criteria identified by the Clinton County Community Foundation included academic achievement; school, community and work activities; essay; financial need; and potential for success. There were 29 Clinton County students who applied for the scholarship. A committee of volunteers evaluated the applications and selected five finalists who were interviewed by the Clinton County Community Foundation board and Scholarship Committee.  For 20 years Lilly Endowment has funded the Community Scholars program.

“For many students, attending the college of their choice can be out of reach,” said Alan Dunn, chairman of the Clinton County Community Foundation Services Committee.  “The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship has given the recipients the opportunity to focus on their studies while attending college.  This program has provided 4,340 scholarships in the State of Indiana and improved the life of many students.”

The finalists' names were submitted to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI) for the selection of recipients. ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The Foundation recognized the achievements of the other four finalists with $1,000 renewable scholarships for a total of $4,000. They include Kevin Chairez, from Clinton Prairie High School, son of Hugo and Sonia Chairez; Brenna Gottschalk, from Rossville High School, daughter of Stephen and Regina Gottschalk; Katherine Rhoda, from Frankfort High School, daughter of Douglas and Regina Rhoda; and Brendan Smith, from Clinton Central High School, son of Tiffany Smith and Kevin Smith.

The Clinton County Community Foundation is a not-for-profit charitable organization created in 1996.  The mission of the Foundation is to improve the quality of life of the community through the accumulation and stewardship of enduring charitable gifts.  For details about making a charitable gift or establishing a permanent endowment fund to benefit a charitable organization or interest in Clinton County, please contact the Community Foundation at (800) 964-0508 or visit the Web site at

Back to Top

Sign up for our E-News!